Barrie Public Library - Enriching our Community

Search the catalogue for books, movies, articles, events & more.


Battle of the Books

Battle of the Books

Battle of the Books

If you love to read, talk to the teacher-librarian at your school about entering a school team for this exciting reading competition. Teams of students from grades 4 to 8 representing any Barrie and Oro-Medonte school may compete. 

At the battles at the end of April or early May, your team will be asked questions about books from the Battle of the Books reading list. The teams with the most points compete in the Grand Battle for a chance to win a trophy and medals.

Special thanks to Domino's Pizza for providing pizza parties for the Grand Battle teams.  20 Bellfarm Rd. 705-726-0230, 411 Huronia Rd. 705-722-5000, Barrie.

Winning Teams


Congratulations to Codrington Public School on their victory in the 2016 Grand Battle.
Lia, Sally, Jasmine, Emily, Tomas, Linnea, Kathryn, Sarrah, Avery, Rachel and Nick were coached by teacher-librarian Michelle Eisses.

Congratulations also go to St. Catherine of Siena Catholic Elementary School on their silver medal and to St. Monica's Catholic Elementary School on their bronze medal. The other Grand Battle finalists were Hewitt's Creek Elementary School and St. Gabriel the Archangel Catholic Elementary School.

Thank you also to the following schools for supporting this program and demonstrating such great team spirit in the semi-battles: Algonquin Ridge, Ardagh Bluffs, Emma King, Ferndale Woods, Hyde Park, Kempenfelt Bay, Maple Grove, St. Bernadette, Warnica and West Bayfield.

Previous Winners

Congratulations to the hard working students that have won Battle of the Books in previous years, and good luck to those competing in the coming year!

2016 Codrington Public School
2015 Codrington Public School
2014 West Bayfield Elementery School
2013 St. Catherine of Siena Catholic Elementary School
2012 St. Catherine of Siena Catholic Elementary School
2011 St. Catherine of Siena Catholic Elementary School
2010 St. Monica’s Catholic Elementary School
2009 St. Catherine of Siena Catholic Elementary School
2008 Codrington Public School
2007 West Bayfield Elementary School
2006 West Bayfield Elementary School
2005 St. John Vianney Catholic Elementary School
2004 West Bayfield Elementary School
2003 Ferndale Woods Elementary & St. John Vianney Catholic Schools
2002 F.Y.I. (Free Your Imagination community team)
2001 West Bayfield Public School
2000 Ferndale Woods Public Shool
1999 Book Bugs Home School Team
1998 Oakley Park Public School
1997 Oakley Park Public School
1996 Oakley Park Public School
1995 St. Monica's Separate School